Help I messed up! I trashed a page by mistake

Let’s say you accidentally delete a Page or Post only to realize you shouldn’t have… Well, it’s not so bad. The Page or Post will stay in the “Trash” until you empty the trash manually.

Here’s how you restore (“untrash”) a Page or Post from the Trash:

  1. Go to Posts —> All Posts or Pages —> All Pages (depending on what you want back).
    Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 5.03.02 PM
  2. At the very top of the directory of all your Pages or Posts, look for the “Trash” link and click it.
    Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 5.05.42 PM
  3. Select the Page (or Post if you’re in the Post’s Trash) that you want to restore and click “Restore.”
    Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 5.07.11 PM
  4. Your Page is now moved out of the trash and back into your directory of All Pages (or Posts).
  5. Your page is back in the directory as well as on the site!
    Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 5.08.39 PM

Help, I messed up! I accidentally erased the content on my page or post!

WordPress automatically saves your work as you type so you don’t have to worry if your computer crashes or you make a mistake. Want to go back to a previous version? Not a problem. Every time you hit save, WordPress creates a snapshot that you can restore with a single click.

What if you accidentally erase the text on a Page or Post and hit “Publish” when you shouldn’t have. It happens to the best. That’s why we know how to fix it 😉

Here’s what you do if you need to bring back the previous version on a Page or Post:

  1. Go to the “Edit Page” (or Edit Post) for the page you edited incorrectly or accidentally erased the content on.
  2. In “Edit” view, go to “Screen Options” and make sure “Revisions” is selected.
    Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 9.45.58 AM
  3. Scroll down to the “Revisions” tab (below your content editor window).
    Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 10.10.03 AM
  4. Select a revision that’s the latest one you did BEFORE you made a mistake that you want to have undone.
  5. Your current page’s content will now be compared with the revision you chose. If you want to restore the older revision, simply click “Restore This Revision” and the page will be restored to an earlier version, overwriting the edits you made that you didn’t like.Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 10.11.15 AM
  6. You can now redo your edits to your page without the mistakes 😉