Help, I messed up! I accidentally erased the content on my page or post!

WordPress automatically saves your work as you type so you don’t have to worry if your computer crashes or you make a mistake. Want to go back to a previous version? Not a problem. Every time you hit save, WordPress creates a snapshot that you can restore with a single click.

What if you accidentally erase the text on a Page or Post and hit “Publish” when you shouldn’t have. It happens to the best. That’s why we know how to fix it 😉

Here’s what you do if you need to bring back the previous version on a Page or Post:

  1. Go to the “Edit Page” (or Edit Post) for the page you edited incorrectly or accidentally erased the content on.
  2. In “Edit” view, go to “Screen Options” and make sure “Revisions” is selected.
    Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 9.45.58 AM
  3. Scroll down to the “Revisions” tab (below your content editor window).
    Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 10.10.03 AM
  4. Select a revision that’s the latest one you did BEFORE you made a mistake that you want to have undone.
  5. Your current page’s content will now be compared with the revision you chose. If you want to restore the older revision, simply click “Restore This Revision” and the page will be restored to an earlier version, overwriting the edits you made that you didn’t like.Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 10.11.15 AM
  6. You can now redo your edits to your page without the mistakes 😉

About HighmarkDesigns

Hanna Bernard – Graphic Designer: After almost ten successful years in Sweden, Hanna moved to the Bay Area/Silicon Valley and took her company with her. In the Bay Area, she had the pleasure to work on several projects for some of the biggest, most well-known high-tech players in the Silicon Valley such as Sun Microsystems, Cisco Systems, Siemens, Baan, UC Berkeley, and Netscape, among others.
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed